36.6 F
Washington D.C.
Thursday, January 20, 2022

India Win Gold in Men’s and Women’s 10m Air Pistol Team Events

Must Read

India’s Manu Bhaker, Yashaswini Singh Deswal and Shri Nivetha Paramanantham clinched gold in the women’s 10m Air Pistol Team event as Saurabh Chaudhary, Abhishek Verma and Shahzar Rizvi also won gold in the Men’s 10m air pistol event at the ongoing ISSF World Cup in New Delhi on Sunday.

The Indian women shot 16 in the gold medal round to finish way ahead of Poland’s Julita Borek, Joanna Iwona Wawrzonowska and Agnieszka Korejwo, who managed 8 at the Dr Karni Singh Shooting Range.

The home team topped the second qualification with a total score of 576 while the Polish women shot 567. In the first qualification, the Indians aggregated 1731 following scores of 290, 287, 288, 287, 293 and 287 over six series. Poland’ sequence of scores read 286, 283, 286, 286, 286 and 287 for a total of 1701.

In the men’s final, Vietnam were represented by Dinh Thanh Nguyen, Quoc Cuong Tran and Xuan Chuyen Phan. Chaudhary and Co led the qualification part two with a total score of 579 while the Vietnamese managed 565. The Indian men aggregated 1750 in the first qualification while Vietnam scored 1708.

Earlier in the day, India’s Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar, Deepak Kumar and Pankaj Kumar combined to win the silver medal in the men’s team air rifle event.

The Indian trio shot a total of 14 in the gold medal round to finish behind the winning team of Lucas Kozeniesky, William Shaner and Timothy Sherry of the United States.

In the women’s air rifle event, the Indian team of Nisha Kanwar, Shriyanka Shadangi and Apurvi Chandela finished fourth.

(With inputs from Agencies)

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest News

- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -spot_img
Translate »