67.9 F
Washington D.C.
Friday, October 22, 2021

Fixtures, squads, streaming, venues and other details

Must Read

After conquering Down Under, the Indian Cricket Team is set to host the England team for a full tour of almost two months, across the three formats. After playing two away Test series in New Zealand and Australia, Team India will be playing a home Test series after a gap of one year, after November 2019.

The four-match series is very important both for India and the England team as far as the World Test Championship (WTC) is concerned. India, who are currently at the top of the table, would want to maintain their pole position, while England’s only chance of qualifying for the final will be if they will all the four Test matches. England are currently playing a two-match series against Sri Lanka, of which they won the first Test riding on skipper Joe Root’s superlative form.

Not just the four Tests, the two teams will also be involved in 3-match ODI and five-match T20I series, which becomes crucial considering the ICC T20 World Cup will be held in India only, later this year.

The first two matches will be played at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Both the games will be played behind closed doors, three round of COVID testing will take place in the lead up to the game and no outsiders will be allowed in the team hotels, amidst strict protocols for the matches.



First: February 5-9, MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, 09:30 AM IST

Second: February 13-17, MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, 09: 30 AM IST

Third: February 24-28, Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad, 02:30 PM IST [D/N Test]

Fourth: March 04-08, Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad, 09:30 AM IST

T20Is – Ahmedabad (all starting at 7 PM IST)

First – March 12

Second – March 14

Third – March 16

Fourth – March 18

Fifth – March 20

ODIs – Pune (all starting 1.30 PM IST)

First – March 23

Second – March 26

Third – March 28


While India announced 18-men squad, marking comebacks of regular skipper Virat Kohli, all-rounder Hardik Pandya and fast bowler Ishant Sharma; England announced a 16-men squad which marks the return of batsmen Rory Burns, Ollie Pope, all-rounder Ben Stokes and ace pacer Jofra Archer.

India (For first two Tests): Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (WK), Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur

England (For first two Tests): Joe Root (C), Jos Buttler (WK), Zak Crawley, Ben Foakes (WK), Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes, Jofra Archer, Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns.

Where will the series be telecast?

India’s home series and matches will be broadcast on Star Sports network and will live stream on Disney+ Hotstar. The coverage will begin from 8.30 AM from February 5.

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest News

Qantas Pushes Up More International Service, Adds India Route

Qantas is pushing up the restart of more of its international routes, launching a new route to India...
- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -spot_img
Translate »